2019-2020 Library Research Scholars & Adobe Scholars

2019-2020 Library Research Scholars

Christina Jayaraj
Year: Junior
Major: Biochemistry

Initial Project Idea: Creation of a scholarly poster and presentation on the state of healthcare insurance, augmented by interviews with physicians and consumers, if time permits.

Mentor: Vera Spika

Tafui Leggard
Year: Sophomore
Major: Industrial Engineering

Initial Project Idea: Oral history project focused on the impact of Venezuelan migration on Trinidad and Tobago.

Mentor: Lauren Fralinger

Brandon Rojas
Year: Junior
Major: Architectural Engineering

Initial Project Idea: Story map of the changing architecture in Havana between 1954 and 1960.

Mentor: James Sobczak

2019-2020 Adobe Scholars

Noor Khaled
Year: Junior
Major: International Studies

Initial Project Idea: Video and scholarly paper on the uses of the First Amendment on college campuses, augmented with oral histories, if time permits.

Mentors: Shatha Baydoun & Vanessa Rodriguez

Nhadya Lawes
Year: Sophmore
Major: English

Initial Project Idea: Film project and digital collection focused on media narratives of Blackness and what informs self-perceptions of Blackness in the United States.

Mentors: Roxane Pickens & Vanessa Rodriguez

• Nhadya Lawes won the Nancy T. Clasby Award. News@TheU article: Uplifting Black voices

Ask bubble