About the University of Miami Libraries

The mission of the University of Miami Libraries is to provide faculty, students, researchers, and staff with the highest quality access to collections, information services, learning support, and digital expertise in support of the University’s mission to transform lives. The University Libraries welcomes and incorporates advances and innovations in information technology and scholarly communication to ensure that our users can locate and use global information resources in all formats.

The Libraries ranks among the top 50 research libraries in North America, drawing scholars from around the world through its important print collection of over 4 million volumes and 130,000 serial subscriptions, rare and unique distinctive collections, state-of-the-art digitization and preservation facilities, and a staff of experienced professionals. The University Libraries comprises six libraries across all three of the University’s campuses in Coral Gables, on Virginia Key, and in the Health District near downtown Miami. Libraries on the Coral Gables campus include: the interdisciplinary Otto G. Richter Library; the Architecture Research Center at the School of Architecture; the Judi Prokop Newman Information Resource Center at the Herbert Business School; and the Marta and Austin Weeks Music Library at the Frost School of Music. The Roberto C. Goizueta Pavilion at the Richter Library is home to the Cuban Heritage Collection. Also in Richter, the Kislak Center at the University of Miami is home to Special Collections and University Archives. The Miller School of Medicine hosts the Louis Calder Memorial Library, and the Rosenstiel campus hosts the Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Science Library.

University of Miami Libraries provides support and services for 11,334 undergraduates, 6,475 graduate students, and 16,431 full- and part-time faculty and staff. The organization employs 106 professionals (including 71 librarian faculty), 71 support staff, and 14 full-time student employees. The Libraries is organized into five functional divisions: Access & Discovery Services, Collection Strategies, Digital Strategies, Health Sciences, Learning & Research Services, and Information Systems and Facilities.

The University Libraries is a member of and contributor to the Association of Research Libraries, Association of Southeast Research Libraries, Association of Academic Health Science Libraries, Council on Library and Information Resources, OCLC Research Library Partners, International Federation of Library Associations, Center for Research Libraries, International Association of University Libraries, Library Publishing Coalition, Digital Library Federation, HathiTrust, Academic Preservation Trust, Consortium of Southern Biomedical Libraries, Florida Collaboration of Academic Libraries of Medicine, and Southeast Florida Library and Information Network. The Libraries licenses electronic resources through the Northeast Research Libraries and Lyrasis consortia and is a member of the Rosemont Shared Print Alliance, Scholars Trust, and Florida Academic Repository.

Ask bubble