Henry King Stanford Award

Henry King Stanford (1916-2009)

From 2007 to 2014, the Amigos of the Cuban Heritage Collection presented the Henry King Stanford Award. Named after the University of Miami’s third president Henry King Stanford (1916-2009), the award recognizes individuals or groups who have substantially and unselfishly gone above and beyond the call of duty to increase the effectiveness of the Cuban Heritage Collection of the University of Miami Libraries.

Stanford led the University from 1962 to 1981 during a period of sweeping change and expansion for the institution. As president immediately after the Cuban revolution and the resulting influx of refugees to South Florida, he created several academic and cultural programs that helped Cuban exiles adapt to their new lives in the United States. With the late Elena Díaz Versón-Amos, he helped establish and chair the Amigos of the Cuban Heritage Collection.

  • 2014 – Ruston Academy
  • 2013 – William D. Walker
  • 2012 – Ignacio Carrera-Jústiz
  • 2011 – José F. Valdivia, Jr.
  • 2010 – Olga C. de Goizueta
  • 2009 – Lesbia Orta Varona
  • 2008 – Esperanza B. de Varona
  • 2007 – Henry King Stanford